Novel Madness FAll 2015 FINALS

ribbonI’ve been remiss in updating this contest! On Monday, September 21, my students voted on the remaining novels. As a result, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and The Hobbit were sent into the finals. Yesterday, the final round of speeches and the final vote took place. This year, the title of favorite novel was awarded to

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Hobbit joins the ranks of past winners:

Spring 2015: Holes by Louis Sachar

2014: Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

2013: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

2012: Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan

I find it interesting that in five years the winner has never been duplicated even though all of these books have appeared in the list more than once. Super favorites like Riordan’s Percy Jackson books or Roald Dahl’s Matilda haven’t won either. I am proud of the variety shown in my students’ reading over the years, and proud that every winner is a book I believe to be worthy of the title. I wonder what they’ll be reading next year?

Leave a Reply