Uncategorized

Top 5 Picks New Hist Fic

This post first appeared on paperlanternwriters.com

My favorite valentine this February may very well be a book! Whether you’re in an unseasonably cold area or an unseasonable warm area, it’s a good time to snuggle up with a new book. Here are some historical novels being released in February.

BIOGRAPHICAL 

The Prophet’s Wifeby Libbie Grant

“A sweeping, lyrical tale of historical fiction that tells the unbelievable story of the early days of the Mormon church through the eyes of the woman who saw it all—Emma, the first wife of the prophet Joseph Smith.” ~from the book description

I’m a sucker for biographical fiction, and Libbie Grant is one of those authors whose entire body of work I’ve read and enjoyed. This one is the story of a woman who marries a man who has nothing but his conviction that he can speak to God, a man who will found his own religion and attract masses of followers. I can hardly wait to read the story of how she holds onto her love of that man as he and the world around him change so dramatically. (preorder now)

***YOU ARE INVITED: Paper Lantern Writers will host a live chat with author Libbie Grant in our SHINE Facebook Group on Sunday, February 6 at 2:00 p.m. PST. If you can’t attend, the video will be available afterwards on our YouTube channel.

NATIVE AMERICAN 

The Wolf Catcher by Anne Montgomery

“A reporter seeks information on an eleventh century magician and discovers that black market sales of antiquities can lead to murder.” ~from the book description

I read this book as an ARC and enjoyed it. You can read my full review on Amazon after the pub date. This engaging dual timeline novel is well researched and descriptive. It kept me riveted in the eleventh century as well as in the modern era. In both timelines, people are trying to learn more about a mysterious man. I thoroughly enjoyed the back and forth investigations, and how the clues were interpreted by ancient and modern people. (release date February 2)

 

PSYCHOLOGICAL 

The Lobotomist’s Wife by Samantha Greene Woodruff 

“A dazzling, page-turning debut, The Lobotomist’s Wife is the shocking tale of a pioneering lobotomist and his devoted ambitious wife. Not only did I stay up reading past midnight to find out what happened in this fascinating portrait of a marriage and mental hospital, the pitch-perfect ending thrilled me to the core.” —Brooke Lea Foster, author of Summer Darlings

I could have listed this one under biographical fiction, too, since it is about a real woman. Ruth falls in love with a brilliant doctor who performs a new treatment called lobotomy. She is passionate about helping people with mental illness, and believes Robert’s treatment is a miracle. Then he begins to go mad himself and make poor decisions about who to operate on, and only Ruth can help. (release date February 1)

AFRICAN AMERICAN/LGBTQ 

Don’t Cry for Me by Daniel Black

“A deeply perceptive evocation of what it has meant to be a man and especially a Black man in the United States, all the more affecting for not being shouted out but told with quiet, sturdy intimacy.”—Library Journal STARRED review

 The book description of this book says, “A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness.” What a gripping hook! The idea of a parent having stories he wants to share with a son, to carry on a legacy, resounds with me. The need to preserve stories for future generations is why I write! This particular story promises to be riveting. (release date February 1)

 MYSTERY

Pignon Scorbion & The Barbershop Detectives by Rick Bleiweiss 

“Bleiweiss’s novel is a worthy addition in the tradition of Conan Doyle and Christie. Holmes and Poirot, please make room for Pignon Scorbion.”-Reed Farrel Coleman, New York Times bestselling author of What You Break

 Anyone who loves classic British detective stories are probably going to love this detective with the quirky name. This is the first in a series that promises a wacky cast of characters solving mysteries in early 20th century England. (February 8)

Links to other books that are pictured:

Women’s fiction:

Beautiful Little Fools by Jillian Cantor (February 1)

The Next Ship Homeby Heather Webb (February 8)

The School of Mirrors by Eva Stachniak (February 22)

Mystery:

Jane and the Year Without a Summer by Stephanie Barron (February 14)

The Secret in the Wall by Ann Parker (February 15)

An Impossible Imposter by Deanna Raybourn(February 15)

Thunder Road by Colin Holmes (February 15)

Biographical:

The Christie Affairby Nina de Gramont (February 1)

Hands of Gold by Roni Robbins (February 4)

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki (February 15)

 Romance:

A Lullaby for Witches by Heather Fox  (February 1)

Ten Rules for Marrying a Duke by Michelle McLean (February 14)

The Good Girl’s Guide to Rakes by Eva Leigh (February 22)

 World War I:

The Last Grand Duchess by Bryn Turnbull (February 8)

 World War II

Think of Me by Frances Liardet (February 22)

 Western:

Wild Salvation by Alfred Stifsim (February 1)

Necessary Deceptions by Pamela Nowak (February 16)

 Young Adult:

Daughters of a Dead Empire by Carolyn Tara O’Neill (February 22)

 Civil War:

Leaving Gettysburg by Curtis Scott (February 9)

 Fantasy:

The Books of Jacob by Olga Tokarczuk (February 1)

 

Need more books on your TBR? See more new release titles at Historical Novel Society

Linda Ulleseit is the award-winning author of The Aloha Spirit and Under the Almond Trees. To interact with her and other historical fiction authors and readers, join PLW’s Facebook group SHINE.

 

1 thought on “Top 5 Picks New Hist Fic”

Leave a Reply